Pepple, Ngige to chair Buhari’s 30-man wage committee

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of a 30-member Tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee, set to to negotiate a new national minimum wage. The committee will be inaugurated on Monday, November 27, 2017 at the State House, Abuja. A statement Thursday by the Deputy Director (Press), Ministry of Labour and Employment, Mr. Samuel Olowookere, announced the former Head of Service of the Federation, Ms. Ama Pepple, as chairman, with the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige, deputising. “By the tripartite nature, the committee is made up of persons from the public sector, (federal and state governments) and the private sector comprising the largest private employer groups,” Olowookere stated. The groups include “the Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA), Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN), Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA), and the Nigerian Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME).” He listed the committee members to include the Chairman, National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission, Richard Egbule (Secretary), Minister of Budget and Planning, Udo Udo Udoma, Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, Head of the Civil Service of Federation, Mrs. Winifred Oyo-Ita, Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Dr. Roy Ugo. The committee also has the following seven members of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum (NGF): Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State (South West), Rochas Okorocha of Imo State (South East), Hassan Dankwambo of Gombe State (North East), Nyesom Wike of Rivers State (South South), Simon Lalong of Plateau State (North Central), Abubakar Bagudu of Kebbi State (North West), and the NGF Director General, Asishana Okauru, as an observer. From the trade unions are the following comrades from the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC): President, Ayuba Wabba, Peters Adeyemi, Kiri Mohammed, Amaechi Asugwuni, and Peter Ozo-Eson. Others are President, Trade Union Congress (TUC), Bobboi Bala Kaigama, Sunday Olusoji Salako, Alade Bashir Lawal, and President, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), Igwe Achese. From the employers are: Director General, Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), Olusegun Oshinowo, Timothy Olawale and Chuma Nwankwo; Director General, Federation of Construction Industry (FOCI), Olubunmi Adekoje. There are also the Chairman, Kaduna East Branch of MAN, Ahmed Ladan Gobir, and Francis Oluwagbenro, President, Kano Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA), Muheeba Dankaka, and President, Nigeria Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME), Degun Agboade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *